The Familiars: The spellbinding feminist Sunday Times Bestseller and Richard & Judy Book Club Pick

The Familiars: The spellbinding feminist Sunday Times Bestseller and Richard & Judy Book Club Pick

3.89 (26,879 Ratings by Goodreads)
Paperback | English
ISBN13: 9781785766145
Condition: USED Quantity
- +
9 item(s) in stock
$12.36
$3.92
imageWishlist This
  • image This purchase will help support literacy campaigns across the world
  • image BUY ONE GIVE ONE

The Sunday Times Bestseller and Richard & Judy Book Club Pick To save her child, she will trust a stranger. To protect a secret, she must risk her life . . . Fleetwood Shuttleworth is 17 years old, married, and pregnant for the fourth time. But as the mistress at Gawthorpe Hall, she still has no living child, and her husband Richard is anxious for an heir. When Fleetwood finds a letter she isn't supposed to read from the doctor who delivered her third stillbirth, she is dealt the crushing blow that she will not survive another pregnancy. Then she crosses paths by chance with Alice Gray, a young midwife. Alice promises to help her give birth to a healthy baby, and to prove the physician wrong. As Alice is drawn into the witchcraft accusations that are sweeping the North-West, Fleetwood risks everything by trying to help her. But is there more to Alice than meets the eye? Soon the two women's lives will become inextricably bound together as the legendary trial at Lancaster approaches, and Fleetwood's stomach continues to grow. Time is running out, and both their lives are at stake. Only they know the truth. Only they can save each other. 'Assured and alluring, this beautiful tale of women and witchcraft and the fight against power was a delight from start to finish' Jessie Burton, author of THE MINIATURIST 'The new Hilary Mantel' Cosmopolitan 'Truly spellbinding' Good Housekeeping

Type Book
Number Of Pages 448
Item Height 36 mm
Item Width 128 mm
Item Weight 519 Gram
Product Dimensions 128 x 36 x 197
Publisher Zaffre
Format Paperback | 448
Book Overview Perfect for fans of Jessie Burton and Sarah Perry, The Familiars is the most spellbinding debut novel of 2019.

The Familiars is an intricate and sensitive portrayal of a brave, tenacious young girl carving her place in the world. A must-read novel * Heather Morris, bestselling author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz *
Fast-paced, twisty and immense fun * Anna Mazzola *
Historical fiction at its feminist best * RED Magazine *

Stacey Halls grew up in Rossendale, Lancashire, as the daughter of market traders. She has always been fascinated by the Pendle witches. She studied journalism at the University of Central Lancashire and moved to London aged 21. She was media editor at the Bookseller and books editor at Stylist.co.uk, and has also written for Psychologies, the Independent and Fabulous magazine, where she now works as Deputy Chief Sub Editor. The Familiars is her first novel.