The Loving Husband

The Loving Husband

by Christobel Kent (Author)

Synopsis

Can you ever truly know the one you love?

Fran Hall and her husband Nathan live in a farmhouse on the edge of the Fens with their two children. One February night, when Fran is woken by her baby, she finds the bed empty beside her and Nathan gone. Searching the house for him she makes a devastating discovery.

As Fran finds herself under intense police scrutiny, she and her two small children become more isolated as she starts to doubt whether or not she really knew Nathan. Was he really the loving husband that Fran had trusted him to be?

As police suspicion grows the questions for Fran begin to mount. Is there something that she is hiding from them - something that she has kept hidden from everyone, including her husband?

From the author of The Crooked House comes another stunning psychological thriller about family, secrets and the lies we tell ourselves. For fans of Gillian Flynn and SJ Watson, The Loving Husband draws readers into a marriage where nothing is as it seems.

$17.85

Quantity

Temporarily out of stock

More Information

Format: Hardcover
Pages: 416
Publisher: Sphere
Published: 07 Apr 2016

ISBN 10: 0751562386
ISBN 13: 9780751562385

Media Reviews
Atmospheric and psychologically acute throughout * Sunday Times *
Kent is an extremely fine writer and makes terrific use in particular of the Fens' waterlogged, empty landscape in which secrets can be easily buried if never quite forgotten . . . Terrifyingly good. * Metro *
Christobel Kent is one of our most assured thriller writers. The Loving Husband is a perfectly paced and plotted novel. * Good Housekeeping *
Firmly in the currently fashionable domestic noir genre, but this is no catchpenny trend-chasing; Kent effortlessly rises above other entries in the field . . . the familiar is confronted and inverted and Kent's ace in the hole is her keen penetration of the characters' psychology, particularly that of beleaguered heroine Fran. -- Barry Forshaw * Financial Times *
Shocking in the extreme. The Loving Husband is a twisted psychological thriller * Sun *
A finely-crafted series of flashbacks . . . excellent thriller . . . tense, dense, extremely well-plotted and beautifully written, this is a fine example of the Domestic Noir genre * Sunday Irish Independent *
Unsettling domestic thriller . . . Spooky and skilfully written, this is one to race through * Sunday Mirror *
Fans of a good old-fashioned page-turner will love this * Closer *
A tautly plotted trail of red herrings, scares and eventual revelations that keep the Gone Girl fever-type buzz alive -- Jon Wise * Weekend Sport *
A clever and claustrophobic tale * Literary Review *
The critically-acclaimed author of The Crooked House, brings us this compulsive psychological thriller about family, secrets and the lies we tell ourselves . . . With a distinctive style and menacing plot, Kent delivers a mesmerising read * Peterborough Telegraph *

An utterly compulsive psychological thriller. I loved it.

* S. J. Watson on The Crooked House *

Brilliant. A spooky, gripping and affecting story.

* Louise Doughty on The Crooked House *
Beware sleep deprivation. Christobel Kent is one mesmerising writer. A brilliant thriller. * Alex Marwood on The Crooked House *
Author Bio
Christobel Kent was born in London and educated at Cambridge. She has lived variously in Essex, London and Italy. Her childhood included several years spent on a Thames sailing barge in Maldon, Essex with her father, stepmother, three siblings and four step-siblings. She now lives in both Cambridge and Florence with her husband and five children.