Four Bare Legs in a Bed and Other Stories

Four Bare Legs in a Bed and Other Stories

by HelenSimpson (Author)


Brilliant, funny and tragic, Four Bare Legs in a Bed is an outstanding and invigorating collection of short stories. In Simpson's singular and opulent voice, we hear of the mixed blessings of independence and marriage, of sex and babies. From a bed that transforms the lives of a struggling couple to a chorus of midwives telling the dramatic story of a birth, this is a playful, unique set of stories to treasure.


Save:$9.34 (79%)


11 in stock

More Information

Format: Paperback
Pages: 192
Edition: New edition
Publisher: Minerva
Published: 02 May 1991

ISBN 10: 0749391626
ISBN 13: 9780749391621
Book Overview: 'Stories told in such succulent prose that you wince at their brevity... a most exceptional debut' - Evening Standard Winner of the Somerset Maugham Award.

Media Reviews
These stories of sex pack a truly original pungency... kicking off belly-laughs or melting you with an apt phrase, Simpson makes a delectable debut * Mail on Sunday *
Outstanding... You should read her * The Times *
Dazzlingly original... Simpson's black-hearted humour is something to relish * Sunday Times *
Absolutely brilliant... the only book this year that's made me sick with envy -- Julie Burchill
The most sensuous writer in the land -- Fay Weldon
Author Bio
Helen Simpson's sixth short-story collection, Cockfosters, follows Four Bare Legs in a Bed (1990), Dear George (1995), Hey Yeah Right Get a Life (2000), Constitutional (2005) and In-Flight Entertainment (2010). A Bunch of Fives: Selected Stories (2012) includes five stories from each of her first five collections. She has received the Sunday Times Young Writer of the Year Award, the Somerset Maugham Award, the Hawthornden Prize and the E.M.Forster Award. She lives in London.