Used Books - Buy Cheap Second Hand Books Online | AwesomeBooks

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society

by Mary Ann Shaffer (Author)

Synopsis

It's January, 1946, and writer Juliet Ashton sits at her cluttered desk in London, struggling to find a subject for her next book. Out of the blue, she receives a letter from one Dawsey Adams who, as well as sharing her love of Charles Lamb, is a member of the Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society, set up in secret during the German Occupation. It's not long before Juliet begins to hear from the other members and discovers that the society is every bit as extraordinary as its name. There's Isola, who sells love potions along with her vegetables; Eben, a fisherman with a passion for Shakespeare; Will, the creator of the famous potato peel pie; and Dawsey himself, a bashful farmer with a tender heart. As the letters fly back and forth, Juliet's curiosity turns into genuine affection, and she decides to visit her new friends and learn more about Elizabeth, the founding member of the society, who fell in love with a German officer and was sent away to a concentration camp, leaving her only child behind. Poignant, captivating and utterly charming, The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society is a timely testament to the power of friendship, books and love.

$4.02

Save:$10.29 (72%)

Quantity

Temporarily out of stock

More Information

Format: Paperback
Pages: 256
Edition: Export ed
Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
Published: 29 Jul 2008

ISBN 10: 0747590648
ISBN 13: 9780747590644
Book Overview: Promotions through libraries, reading groups and independents will guarantee this to be a word-of-mouth bestseller Rights have been sold in 11 countries For readers of Maeve Binchy, Rosamund Pilcher, Joanne Harris and Mary Wesley - and fans of 84 Charing Cross Road and Salmon Fishing in the Yemen

Media Reviews
'Definitely a book to curl up with and simply enjoy' Kate Long, author of The Bad Mother's Handbook 'I can't recommend it highly enough' Elizabeth Gilbert, author of Eat Pray Love 'A novel that leaves you shouting Three Cheers' Mavis Cheek, author of Mrs Fytton's Country Life
Author Bio
MARY ANN SHAFFER became interested in Guernsey while visiting London in 1976. On a whim, she decided to fly to Guernsey but became stranded there as a heavy fog descended and no boats or planes were permitted to leave the island. As she waited for the fog to clear, she came across a book called Jersey Under the Jack-Book, and so her fascination with the Channel Isles began. Many years later, when goaded by her own literary club to write a book, Mary Ann naturally thought of Guernsey. She chose to write an epistolary novel because, 'for some bizarre reason, I thought it would be easier that way.' MARY ANN SHAFFER was born in 1934 in Martinsburg, West Virginia. She now lives near San Francisco and has a husband and two daughters