by IanMcEwan (Author)


On the hottest day of the summer of 1934, thirteen-year-old Briony Tallis sees her sister Cecilia strip off her clothes and plunge into the fountain in the garden of their country house. Watching her is Robbie Turner, her childhood friend who, like Cecilia, has recently come down from Cambridge. By the end of that day, the lives of all three will have been changed for ever. Robbie and Cecilia will have crossed a boundary they had not even imagined at its start, and will have become victims of the younger girl's imagination. Briony will have witnessed mysteries, and committed a crime for which she will spend the rest of her life trying to atone.


Save:$6.55 (65%)


20+ in stock

More Information

Format: Paperback
Pages: 384
Edition: New edition
Publisher: Vintage
Published: 02 May 2002

ISBN 10: 0099429799
ISBN 13: 9780099429791
Book Overview: 'The best thing he has ever written' - Observer
Prizes: Winner of WH Smith Literary Prize 2002 and Commonwealth Writers' Prize Best Book - Eurasia 2002. Shortlisted for WH Smith Book Awards (Fiction) 2002 and Whitbread Prize (Fiction) 2001 and Booker Prize for Fiction 2001.

Media Reviews
A magnificent novel * Independent *
A superb achievement * New York Times *
The best thing he has ever written * Observer *
He is this country's unrivalled literary giant...a fascinatingly strange, unique and gripping novel * Independent on Sunday *
McEwan's best novel so far, his masterpiece * Evening Standard *
A beautiful and majestic fictional panorama -- John Updike
Subtle as well as powerful, adeptly encompassing comedy as well as atrocity, Atonement is a richly intricate book... A superb achievement * Sunday Times *
Atonement is a is also an elegy to a time which, however volatile, still had certainties * The Times *
An evocative depiction of the dangers of innocence and ignorance in the face of uncomfortable reality. * Herald *
Brilliantly explores the currents of guilt, shame and anger... Utterly satisfying, complete * Scotsman *
A complex, thought-provoking novel. -- Fanny Blake * Woman and Home *
Smoulders with slow-burning menace * The Times *
Author Bio
Ian McEwan is the critically acclaimed author of seventeen books. His first published work, a collection of short stories, First Love, Last Rites, won the Somerset Maugham Award. His novels include The Child in Time, which won the 1987 Whitbread Novel of the Year Award; The Cement Garden; Enduring Love; Amsterdam, which won the 1998 Booker Prize; Atonement; Saturday; On Chesil Beach; Solar; Sweet Tooth; The Children Act; and Nutshell, which was a Number One bestseller. Atonement and Enduring Love have both been turned into award-winning films, The Children Act and On Chesil Beach are in production and set for release this year, and filming is currently underway for a BBC TV adaptation of The Child in Time.